My Dorm Room Quilts

It has been a few months since I moved back into my college dorm room to continue my junior year of college, and I’ve decided to share some photos of the quilts and quilted items that I have in my dorm room.

First, I have this whole-cloth quilt that I made for my bed at the beginning of last semester. I had used the quilt prior to this one for about four years, so I was ready for a change. I chose several quilting patterns, and transitioned from one to the next to create a variety of long-arm quilting designs for this quilt. I enjoyed the chance to play around with some of my favorite quilting designs, and some new ones that I had seen!

img_5689

img_5697    img_5694

Second, I have quilted cushions for my “window seat.” When I moved into this room for the first time last semester, I saw the wide windowsill and knew I had to make cushions for a window seat. So when I went home for spring break I did just that! Since I’m living in the same room again this school year, I brought my window cushions along again as well.

img_5726  img_5727
img_5725

Finally, I made this chevron lap quilt a few years ago with fabric that my mom gifted to me. The color scheme matches my chair perfectly, and makes for a great place for me to study, and for my stuffed animals to hang out. You can see more pictures of this quilt, and read about my design process by checking out my Sampler Snapshot post.

img_5698  img_5700

I can’t go far from my quilts, and my dorm room certainly is proof of that fact! I love how they give a comfortable feel to my room decor, and they are perfect for staying warm and cozy as fall and winter approach!

~ By Kathryn

Leave a Reply

